Middlesex Golf

Muswell Hill defeat Northwood to win the Rowse Trophy

Sudbury Golf Club hosted the Frank Rowse Trophy final and despite the heavy early morning rain, which delayed the start, the course played exceptionally well.

This year, there was a slight change to the format of the competition, with each round now being played on a neutral venue. 14 clubs took part in Middlesex's premier team knockout event and it was Muswell Hill and Northwood that had battled their way to the final. 

Route to the Final

Round 1 Muswell Hill 8-4 Pinner Hill Northwood 8.5-3.5 Ealing
Round 2 Muswell Hill 8-4 Stanmore Northwood 7.5-4.5 Highgate
Semi Final Muswell Hill 8-4 Enfield Northwood playoff Crews Hill

There teams were evenly matched and it promised to be a closely fought encounter. Muswell Hill edged the morning foursomes 2.5-1.5 to take a slight advantage into the afternoon singles. 

Northwood needed to produce a similar fightback to the one in the 2017 final which saw them come from 3-1 down to defeat Crews Hill. However, Muswell Hill started the singles strongly and when Gustaf Burenstam made a sensational up and down on the 18th to defeat Chris Gornall, and Mitch Hollis quickly followed that with victory over Northwood Captain, Robbie Johnson, the task became that much harder for Northwood.

The ever-reliable, Justin Phelps, clawed a point back for Northwood by defeating Jamie McCracken 4&3, but Pete Milligan responded for Muswell by holing a lengthy putt on the last to see off Tony Lee. Just one point was required from the remaining four matches and Rowan Baker halved that number by coming from 3 down to earn a half against Nick Lines. 

Victory was sealed in game 6 when the big-hitting Rhodri Harston won his match 2&1 and shook hands with Stuart Jee. With the win confirmed, the final two matches between Mark Mullins (Northwood) and Seb Frankiss (Muswell Hill) and Lee Lewington (Northwood) and Clay O'Shea (Muswell Hill) were honorably called halves.

The victory meant it was Muswell Hill's second Rowse Trophy win, having previously won the prestigious event in 2007. 

Winners: Muswell Hill Golf Club
Runners Up: Northwood Golf Club


Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.